Midnight in Harlem..

1. Derek Trucks and Susan Tedeschi are two of the best-known Blues/Rock musicians of our era. In 2011 the married couple decided to take a hiatus from their respective solo projects and formed Tedeschi Trucks Band. “Midnight in Harlem,” my song of choice, was on their 2011 Grammy Award winning album Revelator. I chose “Midnight in Harlem” because of its timeless appeal. “Midnight” has something for everyone: blues, folk, soul, and rock and roll. It’s a song about disenfranchisement from the familiar, which is universally relatable. The song opens with soft guitar and keyboards, and peaks with Derek Truck’s seamlessly smooth electric guitar. There is even a subtle organ in the background, adding to the ambiance. The song features Susan Tedeschi’s gravely vocals crooning in the second stanza:

I went down to the river
And I took a look around
There were old man’s shoes
There were needles on the ground
No more mysteries, baby
No more secrets, no more clues
The stars are out there
You can almost see the moon
The streets are windy
And the subway’s closing down
Gonna carry this dream
To the other side of town.

Really, you should listen to it and try not to feel the nostalgia. “Midnight in Harlem” is simply a beautiful song that never fails to provoke emotion from me, and everyone I show it to. Tedeschi Trucks Band performed at Redrocks on June 17th, and I cried my eyes out for the entirety of this song. The above version of the song is from their studio-recorded album, but I would highly recommend finding a live performance to truly experience “Midnight’s” glory.

  1. I liked the idea presented in the article that music is universal to everyone. It makes sense that people are endeared to music from birth and maintain that love. I don’t know anyone who doesn’t love some form of music, even if they don’t choose to listen to music all that often. Another great part of the article was the idea that everyone has the capability to participate in music, and should be given an opportunity of a musical education. It’s also cool that music appeals to fetuses and animals!

2 thoughts on “Midnight in Harlem..

  1. Hi!
    1. Wow this is really a beautiful song. I liked it so much I just downloaded it to my iTunes! Thanks for sharing it. Tedeschi has such a soothing and blissful voice that is complimented beautifully by the instrumentals in the song. I was just imagining myself listening to this song at Red Rocks, and wow…that must have been an amazing concert. This song just really resonates with me for some reason. You’re right, it is very nostalgic! The first time I listened to the song it immediately brought me right back to a memory I have in a house I lived in when I was little. Pretty cool how music can do that for you!
    2. You are so right, who doesn’t love music!? I also appreciated the part of the article that talked about music universality. I think it’s really interesting that we are all able to relate to music in one way or another!

    -Meagan

    Like

  2. Samantha!
    Dang, this song is soulful. I’ve heard of Tedeschi Trucks Band, but have never actually listened to any of their songs. I really liked “Midnight in Harlem” though! I really liked how you talked about the hidden organ in the music, I was so distracted by the awesome electric guitar riff that I completely missed out on that, and it’s awesome!
    I also related a lot to your reading of the article. What most interested me was the universal capacity for music too! I think that music plays such and important roles in our lives, and the more and more musical experiences we have, like the one you had at Red Rocks with Tedeschi Trucks Band, the better off we are I think. Music is such an awesome form of therapy and tool for the brain!

    Thanks so much for your post!

    Like

Leave a comment