Blog Entry 6

The song I am choosing is from the genre that I chose, which was hard rock. The song is “Follow” by Breaking Benjamin. 

I would say that this song would classify as hard rock, or potentially even american rock depending on who you were speaking to. Although wikipedia isn’t the most credible source, hard rock is described as It is typified by a heavy use of aggressive vocals, distorted electric guitars, bass, drums, and often accompanied by piano or keyboard. I think that this does a decent job of describing the genre, although today’s hard rock does not often times feature a piano or keyboard. I think that the instrumentation and vocals are the main give a ways when it comes to identifying this song. The genre of music often times has a fast tempo and loud style and I think that this song and especially this band in particular capture that. I have liked this band since the day I first heard them. I do enjoy that they have the low deep guitars and catchy riffs, but I like how it encompasses the lyrics as well. I think the riffs and chorus instrument wise, reflects the emotion that the  song is provoking at that given point in the song. I also enjoy that there is not a ton of screaming throughout the song, which has become very standard in the hard rock genre. I think the genre speaks to me because the sound is one I have always loved. It has evolved through time but even the guns n roses/bon jovi eras were full of this style. Obviously the sound changes from band to band but I think that the electric guitar and drums are a staple in this genre, and I find them very pleasing to my ear.

2 thoughts on “Blog Entry 6

  1. Ill have to agree with the fact that this guys voice really allows for the listener to be able to grasp the emotion of the song. I’ve always been a big fan of this genre so I feel you give a pretty accurate representation of what hard rock typically consists of. I’m really not a big fan of the screaming either, I feel it renders the lyrics borderline pointless when you can hardly comprehend what they’re saying, however, I do find it tolerable in small doses especially when the song has a really good to it. I love the sound of heavy guitar and I think this overrides my dislike for the screaming, but anyway, good post.

    Like

  2. Hey Kyle, I agree with you that the instrumentation and vocals are what are really important in identifying hard rock. Breaking Benjamin would definitely fall into the hard rock genre for me as well. I love this band too, ever since I was about in 5th grade. They are still one of my favorites to listen to. When listening to them you do get a sense of emotion. You can really feel the lead singer’s emotions as the song goes on. I also agree with you that hard rock does not seem to have much piano or keyboard in it. Off the top of my head I cannot think of a hard rock song with it at all. Great post!

    Like

Leave a comment