Blog Entry 11

Resumé

  • EVALUATE
    • I think that this resumé does a number of things right. I think that the layout is clean, and it is only a page long which I think is generally a good thing. I also think that this resumé seems to be catered toward a specific job, which is great for that job, but needs to be changed for anything more general. I also think that the wording of the resumé is done nicely. It is short and to the point, which I’m sure that employers who read thousands of these really appreciate.
  • DISCUSS
    • As I said before, I feel like this resumé does a good job communicating her point. She seems to have modified her resumé for a specific job, and I feel like the things that she has listed on her resumé are all cohesive and seem to be making a point about what kind of employee she would be. I do think that this resumé is lacking some detail though. I think that finding a balance between giving enough information and giving too much on a resumé can be difficult, so I’m not sure that this is a very fair critique.
  • SPECULATE
    • I think that this resumé has a clean and simple layout which is effective. I think, though, that the fact that her education section is so small and at the bottom makes it seem like it is not something that she wants to put on display– perhaps it wasn’t her strong point.
  • CONNECT
    • The intended audience here appears to be a specific future employer. I think that one thing that resumés can show us is that to employers we can kind of be treated as a commodity, and short, simple, to the point versions of ourselves are sometimes all that they have time for.

Part 2

  • The music that I listen to while I do work or study varies depending on the subject. I am a Spanish major, so I do a lot of reading and writing in Spanish. While I am doing Spanish homework, music in English really distracts me, so I tend to listen to either music in Spanish, or classical music. While I write in English, I can listen to anything. I tend to listen to rap (it’s one of my favorite genres) or country music. While I am studying for an exam, though, the only music I can listen to is classical music. For me, I can really tell how close of attention I need to pay to something based on whether or not I am completely distracted by background music. I always have music playing, but if I find myself no longer paying attention to my work, I tend to switch from my “fun” playlists into a focus playlist that I found on Spotify. I think that sometimes music has the ability to put people into a focused zone, but sometimes it can also suck your brain all the way in. When it does this, it becomes a distraction rather than something to help you focus.

1 thought on “Blog Entry 11

  1. As you mentioned, the length of this resume is short and makes it easy to read. I like the simplicity of this resume. The bullet points are short and to the point, but this can also be lacking in detailed information. Overall, I would say that this resume is effective in its purpose. I also can only listen to classical music while studying for an exam. It’s more simplistic and doesn’t distract me from my work. I agree with you that music sometimes can be more of a distraction than actually helping one focus. It’s important to find a balance to get the most out of music when listening.

    Like

Leave a comment