Blog Post 7: The Band

Thank you, Dani Silverstein, for reminding me of the greatness of The Band. “The Weight” is such a classic song from my childhood and they are truly one of the greatest bands of all time. “The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down” is another one of my favorites from The Band. This song is just a true American classic and it’s also just badass. My dad is a die hard fan of The Band and these songs all remind me of him. I agree with you that it’s awesome how The Band tells stories through their music. More specifically, they tell stories of American history, which I find so compelling. I also love their folk rock sound.

I recommend that everyone give The Band a listen. If your parents haven’t already shoved them down your throat growing up(like mine did), their greatest hits like “The Weight”, “The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down”, and “Acadian Driftwood” are AWESOME songs. You need to definitely be a little open minded to classic rock though. Their songs are pretty chill and definitely very raw sounding. There is no electronic or rap involved, so just be open minded to the slow-paced beautiful music!

4 thoughts on “Blog Post 7: The Band

  1. Hi Katherine, thanks for copying Dani’s post because I somehow missed it in our previous blog posts. I’m not a big listener of The Band, but I have a lot of friends who are obsessed with their catalog of music. I’m jealous that your dad is fan because my parents were never into the classic rock scene. Honestly, I’m not sure why I don’t listen to them more because they produce a unique sound within their own genre. I really enjoy the slow tempo and chilling sounds that they create. I’m not a big fan of today’s dance infused beats, so I great to finally hear a song without them.

    Like

  2. I have never really listened to The Band much, but after the original post about them I has to download a few songs. They are quite impressive. Very pleasant sound I now associate with them. Absolutely an American classic, and I am a huge fan of how they tell a story in their songs. That seems to be a rare quality now. When bands tells stories in today’s music they tend to have no meaning whatsoever. My parents never really showed me these guys, they were more into Led Zeppelin, and AC/DC. This is now one of my favorite bands from back in the day. Good post!

    Like

  3. I definitely think that this genre of music is definitely underrated in our generation. I feel people are so caught up into terrible rap and edm that everyone has lost their sense of taste in true music. I think The Band and this song is great, its somewhat of a shame that this kind of music isn’t being created today. Sure, you have some great rock bands here and there today however this just defines sheer, classic American rock and roll that’s going to carry itself far past its generation. I feel anyone who can appreciate music like this definitely has good taste.

    Like

  4. Absolutely love The Band! One of my favorite songs of all time is “Ophelia” by The Band. I have seen that song covered live by Umphrey’s McGee and The Motet and it just keeps getting better. I could listen to this band, (The Band!) all day long.

    Like

Leave a comment