Tip of My Tongue

I’m not usually a huge proponent of listening to live music that has been recorded, but I love this performance of “Tip of My Tongue” by The Civil Wars live. One of the biggest issues that I usually have with live music is when the artists don’t sound as good as they do in studio versions. This is not the case at all with this amazing duo. Joy Williams and John Paul White sound just as stunning live as they do in their recordings. Joy’s hauntingly beautiful vocals play nicely with John’s smooth, deep voice and simple, yet entrancing acoustic guitar accompaniment.

The small venue gives the performance a much more intimate feel than you would get in a stadium with thousands of screaming fans. Watching the two of them exchange playful glances as they sing is one of my favorite parts of this performance. Though they are not a couple (Joy’s husband actually manages the band) watching them feels as though you are watching an intimate moment between lovers. This feeling of the performance enhances the song because it fits in perfectly with the lyrics.

Joy has this joyful smile throughout the performance as she sways and caresses the microphone. You can tell that she is really enjoying putting on the performance as much as we are enjoying watching it. John has a more sensual, somewhat serious air about him during the performance, but as the two exchange glances we see him lighten up and begin to smile. Joy lays her head on his shoulder around 1:45 and I just melt. The two of them seem to enjoy each other’s company and singing together, which invites the listener to do the same.

One thing that you miss out on with recorded live performances is subtle nuances in their voices that just can’t be done justice through the lens of a camera. You also miss out on taking in the ambiance of such a small, close knit setting. With a live performance that has been recorded the camera tells you what to look at and how, instead of you being able to look at whatever your eye is drawn to.

4 thoughts on “Tip of My Tongue

  1. I could not have agreed with your post more. I have the same issue as you do when it comes to live performances. It kills me when the artist doesn’t sound as good or clear live as they do recorded. I have to say that The Civil Wars are one of my favorite duos. I think that they are some of the rawest musical talents out there right now, and for this reason, I love watching videos of their live performances, and would LOVE to see them live someday. Did they break up because of their divorce? Or was that a rumor? I need to catch up on my celebrity knowledge. Anyway, I also agree with you when you say that the small venue really helps the quality of the performance. I love going to big shows at Red Rocks and the Pepsi Center, and I just saw Zac Brown Band at Coors field, and all of those performances are incredible, but some of my favorite artists’ shows have been at small intimate venues. I also agree with you about the subtleties in their voices that you miss in a recorded live performances. I think that this is especially true for this group because their voices and their harmonies have so much depth to them. I thought your post was really insightful, and I am happy you chose to write about these two. I respect and admire them as musicians so much!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve never heard of this song or band before. The singer has an angelic voice and the guitar adds a nice touch. I think the reason that this song sounds so great is because of the minimal use of instruments. They are just singing along with the acoustic guitar. This duo feeds off one another and that connection radiates out to the audience. This song has a nice beat and melody. I like the small setting of the performance; it makes the viewer feel more personable with the performer. The simplicity of the performance gives off a homey feel as well and a sense of comfortableness.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Holy cow what an amazingly beautiful voice!! Their voices accompany each other so well. I hate it when artists don’t sound as good in person as they do in recordings, too. Whenever I hear an artist live that sounds just as good in a recording, it just makes me appreciate them and their talent ten times more. I also really loved how Joy and John responded to each other in this video. I thought it was beautiful how happy she looked the entire time, and I loved the way she looked at John. Then when his eyes would meet hers, the look in his eyes was so sweet! I’m not sure that that feeling would have been captured as well if I saw it in person because I wouldn’t have been so up close and personal. Awesome song!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This was a great performances. I love simple performances like this because it’s something that everyone can enjoy and it is really focused on the sound of the music and nothing else. I would love to see the Civil Wars live and listen to more of their music. They are extremely talented. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment