Final Blog Post:-(

Being able to blog about something that interests me has been a breath of fresh air from all the papers I’ve had to write over the past 4 years. Part of my last job was to blog for a company, so I never had a chance to feel free with what I was writing. It feels amazing to be able to write out whatever you’re thinking and publish it. This class has sparked my interest in starting my own blog one day(after I polish my writing skills a little bit!) Looking back on my past entries over the past few weeks, I have to say that my favorite was the first blog I wrote about “Islands” by King Crimson. The assignment was to write about a song that we found compelling and I think this was my best work in the class. This song means so much to me and it was easy and fun to write about it. I really put time and effort in to writing this post which I wish I put in to all my posts. I am proud of myself for letting go and being honest. I know I may sound crazy in some of my posts, but I think that adds to my creativity. I was excited about not having to hold back in my posts, but I still tried to make it enjoyable for the reader. There were some posts that I wish I could go back and re-do. Some of them I didn’t put enough effort and feeling in to. I feel like I could’ve chose a better song or threw in some more detail, used better words etc. If I was given a chance to go back and fix my posts, I would definitely be more careful with my word choice.

I was amazed by the writing skills of some of the student in the class. I loved being able to read their blogs because a lot of them inspired me. There are so many great writers and knowing that other students were seeing my work pushed me to try harder. I felt like I was writing a music diary that everyone could see. Although I was being very honest, I still tried to make it so that others would enjoy my posts and be inspired to listen to new music. I learned a great deal from my fellow bloggers about rhetorical awareness and audio/visual context. There were aspects of certain songs or videos that I wouldn’t have pointed out without reading other people’s blogs. I was searching for the same things that other people searched for in their songs and videos, and it was interesting to see what other people found. Everyone in this course is very opinionated about music and I think that made the posts more fun to read and analyze. Overall, this course has made me want to continue writing creatively and possible starting a blog. Thank you to everyone in this class for being awesome and writing such creative material!

3 thoughts on “Final Blog Post:-(

  1. I also enjoyed writing a blog for this class. Blogs are new and fresh and very popular in today’s society. It’s good to be exposed to different types of writing and not just the plain, old, boring essay. I’m glad that you were able to let go and be honest in your blog posts. I felt that way too, and I think that most people were able to freely express their thoughts. I also like the blog because it was neat to see the different styles of writing of each classmate. Everyone writes so differently so I learned a little bit about writing while reading other posts.

    Like

  2. Hi Katherine,
    I can’t believe this is already our last post, but it was enjoyable to see everyones ideas and selections of music throughout the duration of the course. I would much rather complete small blog posts then formal writing assignments because it feel much more casual and relaxing. Also, when you have an interesting topic like music, it’s not hard to stay interested and keep pace with the class. I agree that the course really encourages you to think creatively and I would recommend it to fellow classmates.

    Like

  3. It’s so cool that you have so much experience blogging. I agree that it was refreshing to blog so freely about music. I have enjoyed reading your posts and I definitely think you should start up your own blog after this!

    I don’t think you sounded crazy ever… just so ya know I always feel like I sound a little crazy too, especially when I get really into what I’m writing about. What’s cool about this class-blog-senario is that you don’t really have to face any weird or negative feedback. It’s nice to write freely and have almost all comments be constructive and reassuring.

    I too looked into certain songs and bands that the other kids in the class posted about. That is probably one of the biggest wins of this class–an enhanced summer playlist! Hope you continue to enjoy music and blogging! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment