Everlong

I chose this music video because the song reminds me of summer and it’s arguably one of the greatest videos depending on the type of genres you prefer.  The video was released in 1997 and directed by Michel Gondry. The video creates a devastating effect by including chainsaws, cross-dressing and skeletons. The music video for “Everlong” is a parody of the horror film “Evil Deed”. The movie is about a group of friends that live in a cabin together for the weekend, only to be attacked by zombies.

This music video is great because it’s original and strange with scenes like the growing of the big hand. The black and white introduction shows the storyline of the video is based on a couple in their early years. The majority of the video is set in a bedroom, where the couple is dreaming. The other settings in the video are in the couple’s dreams. The wife is at the cabin in the woods, while the husband is at some crazy party. The main characters in the video are actually the members of The Foo Fighters. Dave Grohl, the band’s lead singer, is the husband in the film. Lighting in the video is crucial for creating a sense of meaning to viewers.  For example, the darker lighting was used in the video to create a horrific feeling, like a nightmare. Several camera angels, such as the longer and medium shots, were used to tell the storyline more effectively, while close up angels were able to show the character’s expressions.

Overall the video is extremely strange because it is based on two people’s dreams connecting with each other. However, the storyline was interesting because the director used plenty of special effects. The video is entertaining while also making you feel uncomfortable at different scenes. Anyone who enjoys the Foo fighters or Dave Grohl will enjoy this music video and song.

5 thoughts on “Everlong

  1. I absolutely love the Foo Fighters, and I know it’s a common choice but “Everlong” is my favorite song by them. I am not much of a music video watcher but this has to be one of the best I have ever seen. It is almost like you are watching a short movie, and that is not something you see much in music videos. I love how the couple basically has an inception type of thing going on with their dreams. The man has to go back to sleep to save his girl, and then after they are successful the band members emerge and play the end of the song. Great post!

    Like

  2. The Foo Fighters always have the greatest music videos! They are hilarious and so fun to watch. “Everlong” is a great video because there’s a story going on. I love how it’s black and white when the couple is sleeping, but their dreams are full of color. The video has a lot of comedic energy, but also goes well with the lyrics of the song. This video is a true classic. My favorite Foo Fighters video would have to be “Learn To Fly” when the guys head turns in to a hamburger though. Gets me every time.

    Like

  3. Its funny this was one of the first songs I ever learned how to play on the guitar and that alone has made me a big Foo Fighters fan, it’s a great song. Although I don’t think they are as good as they used to be I still think they’re a good band and I really admire Dave Grohl, I mean by being the drummer for Nirvana and then the singer/rhythm guitarist for the Foo Fighters just shows that this guy is very musically talented; you should check out some of his interviews where he talks about music and this generation if you haven’t already, that guy really has some stuff to say.

    Like

  4. I Am such a fan of this song and an even bigger one of the music video. I always enjoy a video that really has a meaning to it. When there is a story being told it makes it interesting to watch, which essentially creates more listening for the song. I like how this story and the lyrics of the track tie together.

    Like

  5. I Am such a fan of this song and an even bigger one of the music video. I always enjoy a video that really has a meaning to it. When there is a story being told it makes it interesting to watch, which essentially creates more listening for the song. I like how this story and the lyrics of the track tie together.

    Like

Leave a comment