I’ll never call you Queen Bee

“You can call me Queen Bee…” Not off to a great start, Lorde, we all know who the real queen B is. Nice try though.

I cannot stand the song Royals. I think Lorde’s voice is whiney and obnoxious. I’m getting pissed just having to listen to this song again for this post. “And we’ll never be royyaaalllls” ugh that part is the part that literally drives me insane. I don’t want to here Lorde’s obnoxious ass voice ever again. It also really bothers me that everyone thinks she’s some unique-young hipster. She sucks. The whole song is about how her and her friends are “trendy poor” and hating on how other songs are all about balling out. [Trendy poor] noun: Having a lot of money but acting like you don’t and that you have to be super money-savvy all the time. Ex. CU student, “You’re buying that? [judgmental stare*] I have like noo money, but its chill [*hops in range rover].” For the record, I find it hard to believe that Lorde is not balling out on the daily. Also, she says in the song that she would never want to… after having so much success with this song and her songs to follow I also have a hard time believing she’s not dropping a bill or two on some fancy stuff.To be honest I could care less about how much money Lorde does or does not have. It just bothers me that the whole song is about how dope she is for not having money and not caring. The first thing she says in the song is: “I’ve never seen a diamond in the flesh” are you telling me no one in New Zealand is married? C’mon Lorde. I always call her Lord-e by the way. Carrying on, I’ve heard this song a thousand times on the radio, on commercials and at parties, however what really pushed me over the edge was when people started posting personal covers of the song on Facebook, YouTube and Vine. Please! The song sucked in the first place, your “trendy” “hip” cover of it sucks too. That really drove me nuts.

I feel bad for ripping Lorde so hard because she is a young, talented artist who is making it big which is great. There is just something that seriously rubs me wrong about “Royals,” if ya couldn’t tell.

3 thoughts on “I’ll never call you Queen Bee

  1. I think that you might appreciate South Park’s take on the whole Lorde craze. I actually don’t hate this song but whenever I hear it I can’t stop myself from yelling “I AM LORDE YA YA YA!” I don’t find her voice to be whiny, it seems kind of sultry to me. Her range isn’t the best but it’s decent. It’s all personal preference though. I definitely see what you mean with the “trendy poor” thing though. She has been booming in popularity, I find it hard to believe that she’s not enjoying the wealth that goes along with that.

    Like

    1. Caroline,
      I agree that the lyrics are silly, and annoying lyrics can certainly nag on a song. But the music, in my opinion, is actually quite good. The vocal melody is interesting and suits her voice, the crescendo is subtle and fits with the composition. Her personality may be ridiculous (to be honest, I know nothing about this and neither do I care to), but whoever produced this song (because most pop singers have other people write their music) did a fine job.

      Like

  2. The first time I listened to this song I couldn’t help but get the feeling that Lorde was really conceited, singing a song that basically calls herself out to be the greatest thing since sliced bread and to thus, bow down to her. I don’t think there’s really any good beat to this song other than the pre-chorus, that’s probably the most decent part of this song but again, I just cant get over the fact that Lorde is just really self-involved and kind of a ditz whenever I hear this song. This song is definitely overplayed on the radio and is getting way more recognition than it really deserves. Although the song is not absolutely terrible in my opinion, Ill have to agree on your points here.

    Like

Leave a comment