Gang Starr.. One of The Best Yet! (Blog Post 7)

I decided to chose this song because it is from a hip hop duo that I really enjoyed listening to while growing up. I always enjoyed listening to Gangstarr and Wu-tang Clan, while everyone else”loved” lil’ Wayne and Kanye West. Guru and Dj Premier are very talented in their own rights, but they’re amazing when they collaborate together. Guru’s voice and lyrics are difficult to replicate, while DJ Premier puts together a unique beats and sets the tempo. They are the true definition of old school east coast hip hop.

After viewing Caroline’s post “Above the Clouds, Where The Sounds Are Original” I went through all of their songs I have on my iTunes. Above the Clouds is one of their greatest songs, but I also wanted to share a song that was constructed around a harder, more stripped down sound. This song is less melodic than their previous works like Above the Clouds. It is constructed around a chorus that could be considered humorous or intimidating depending on your perspective towards the music. I think the song really resembles the attitude and thoughts of the duo because they’re completely old school with a tough attitude. They have a much tougher background compared to artist today, such as Drake, who got their careers started through Hollywood. As for Caroline’s post, I don’t really have any disagreements because I think the artists is great. Both of our selections are original and show different styles of their music. I recommend Gang Starr to anyone that enjoys hip hop beats or rap because it is important to realize the capability of the genre. I feel like the genre currently revolves around the simplistic ideas of money, materials, and sex, instead of something more concrete and personal. Gang Starr can never be copied, but I’m glad I could copy them for this post!

3 thoughts on “Gang Starr.. One of The Best Yet! (Blog Post 7)

  1. I didn’t really like this song because I’m not a hip-hop fan, but I agree with all the points you made about it. I agree that this song “was constructed around a harder, more stripped down song”. The backbeat is consistent throughout the song and doesn’t vary much. The focus of the song is purely the rapping. I like how Gang Starr uses their past experiences to present a message through their songs. This aspect of Gang Starr makes their songs more relatable and creates a deeper connection with the listener. It’s nice to know that there a some hip-hop songs with meaningful messages rather than the “ideas of money, materials, and sex”.

    Like

  2. Yay! I’m so glad you did this post on gang Starr too!! I totally agree with what you said about how gang Starr explores themes outside of the rap norms–booze, babes, bills..

    I also think it’s cool how you pointed out how versatile gang Starr’s sound is. It’s great how you described this song as hard and stripped down, really well put. Im glad you did the copy cat post on gang starr! Hope you’re having a fun weekend!

    Like

  3. Gang Starr is great. My favorite songs of his are “Battle” and “Right Where You Stand”. This is the type of rap I like to put on when I’m snowboarding because I feel like I’m just coasting over the snow. Good stuff!

    Like

Leave a comment