Bon Voyage (Blog Entry 12)

Believe it or not this was probably my third or fourth class where I have had to make blog posts on a weekly basis and to be honest I’ve always really enjoyed it. At this time I’m pretty familiar with writing for an audience, I feel its fun to be able to express your opinion on certain topics for others to see, you never know, maybe your writing will enlighten someone one way or another one day. One thing in particular that I enjoy about writing in a blog is that blogs allow you to write on a formal, yet much more personal level if that makes any sense. Like posting on a blog is often much more formal than something like a text message, Facebook status or, in most cases, an email, however you can also just be casual and let your mind flow as you put your thoughts into words. I guess I have always just had a knick for writing since I was a freshman in high school so Ive enjoyed assignments like these, a lot of people on my dads side of the family was the exact same way its kind of funny.

I’m definitely going to carry blogging with me at least in the next few years of my life. This next year I plan on raising a lot of money so when I (hopefully) graduate in May I can just go off and travel either in Europe or South America to see family, discover and take a break away from reality as I figure out what it is exactly that I want to do in my life. If I’m lucky to go on these travels for a while I will definitely be blogging about my travels every other day or so to keep my writing sharp for when I have to go back to reality and get an actual job.

Through this class I’ve definitely become more aware of developing rhetoric in my writing. I feel as a journalism major its imperative to want to sound convincing in your writing. Well everyone, its been a great five weeks, I enjoyed looking into everyone’s musical tastes along with the lessons learned in this class, have a good year everyone.

4 thoughts on “Bon Voyage (Blog Entry 12)

  1. I really enjoyed reading a lot of your posts this summer! It’s rarely cool that you have done this for other classes. This was my first experience blogging at all. What you said definitely makes sense. Blogging is definitely slightly more formal than a lot of the writing we do every day, but it is much more informal than a lot of school work that we have. That’s awesome that you are a journalism major, and that you enjoy writing so much. I enjoy it a lot too. It would be amazing to travel Europe– I hope you are able to do that. Have a good last few weeks of summer!

    Like

  2. That’s very interesting, I never thought of blogging during my travels to stay sharp on my writing. I always thought it was just a good way for people at home to follow along on what the traveler is doing. That’s a great idea, though. And, if you find your passion, or apply it to a career path and discover what you want to do, it could even potentially be a useful thing to put on your resume and show future employers! Especially as a journalism major, your posts on places and events you witness could be super great experience for you.
    This class was my first time blogging, but I agree with you in that it is a great balance of formal but also casual enough to express our real opinions. Have a great rest of your summer and good luck on your travels!

    Like

  3. Thanks for all your posts. It was fun to read what you had to say about different music topics. I could definitely tell that you were comfortable writing to an audience. Your writing seemed to have a lot of confidence. My favorite part of writing a blog is that it is so much more informal and personal than writing a paper. I also hope to continue blogging after this class, it was really fun to do it. Good luck trying to raise money and graduate next year. Traveling to Europe or South America would be very exciting. I hope it all works out!

    Like

  4. This is the first time I have had to write a blog for a class, but I definitely see what you mean with it being a halfway point between formal and informal. It’s nice to think that we may be influencing peoples’ thoughts through these little bits of writing. I’m excited for you and your travel plans! If you end up going through with it I would love to read your blog posts. Yours is one of the few posts that I could usually identify the author without looking. I would definitely agree that sounding convincing and writing well are imperative for journalism. Good luck with everything!

    Like

Leave a comment