A Man’s Pride and Joy (Blog Entry 8)

For this assignment I chose to cover the music video for Puddle of Mudd’s song “Blurry”. I think that this is a very emotional and powerful video, for the song itself is really a song of sheer melancholy and the video does a phenomenal job of representing what the singer is trying to express. This song is about the singer’s desperation to be a better father towards his very young son. In the video, its implied that he has split with the mother of his child and he knows that this will one day affect his sons life, thus he continues to express himself by stating that his son is his life and he will do anything for him and make sure he’s safe.

“You could be my someone

You could be my scene

You know that I’ll protect you

From all of the obscene

I wonder what you’re doing

Imagine where you are

There’s oceans in between us

But that’s not very far”

            I think these lines really help to give listeners a sense of where the singer is coming from. In the video you can see the child being dropped off at the singers house by the singers ex-lover/wife and the singer is enthralled. You can sense how happy he is to hang out with his son and show him all the great things in life but you can tell he’s being held back by the fact that his child is going to grow up one day and have his life affected by his parents separation, especially as you see the kids mom in a new relationship and the new guy is seemingly a total scumbag, getting into fights with the boys mom in the kitchen, exposing the child to abuse. At the end of the video you see the boy running back into his moms car with her current lover with his feet propped up on the dashboard, smoking a cigarette and drinking beer, clearly not giving a damn about the precious little life running around him, and the singer can feel this as he sits in his windowsill staring, further feeling responsible for his son having to be exposed to such a piece of trash.

After doing some research I discovered that the boy is actually the singers son in real life and that the music video is pretty accurately based off of him and his wife’s separation in real life as well. With that being said I feel you can really grasp the singers emotion behind the song, hence even being able to see tears in the singer’s eyes by the beginning of the first chorus. Overall, I think this is brilliant song and sends a strong message out to those who take their loved ones for granted, I hope you guys enjoy!

1 thought on “A Man’s Pride and Joy (Blog Entry 8)

  1. Hey I’m really glad that you chose this song for your music video selection because I loved listening to Puddle of Mudd while growing up. My older cousins would always have their cd’s and play them in the car. The video is definitely powerful and conveys a strong message about the struggles of a breakup while having a family. However, I didn’t know that the video was actually based off of the lead singers life, which makes the video even more powerful. Also, I agree that its a great song with a lot of emotion.

    Like

Leave a comment