Everyday (Blog Post 6)

“Everyday”

ASAP Rocky

1. This is the hardest post so far for me, because I really don’t have a favorite genre or favorite song. I am a big rap fan, and as of right now this song is certainly among my favorites, so here it is!

2. This is certainly a song that falls into the rap/ hip-hop genre– for a number of reasons. Rap songs generally follow what is called a “flow”, or a series of rhymes that follow a rhyme scheme. This rhyme scheme certainly exists in this song. One other identifying quality of rap is the beat and the tempo associated with the genre. A back beat is key to a rap song, and allows the rapper to keep pace as he raps along. While rappers do not sing their music, the tone and voice they use is every bit as important as the sound of a singer’s voice. In order to engage the listener (and make it so that the song is not being spoken entirely in monotone) the performer’s voice has to fluctuate. ASAP is a good rapper because he is able to change the tone of his voice while maintaining a happier medium, unlike someone like Eminem.

3. This song speaks to me for a few reasons. First of all, I think that ASAP is a really talented lyricist, and raps extremely eloquently. His verses flow in a really unique way, and while they are a good amount more complex than the songs that a lot of popular hip-hop artists produce, they are not so convoluted that they are difficult to follow. I also really like that ASAP uses Rod Stewart for the chorus, and I like the laid back message that he sings. “Everyday I drink my wine… Feelin’ fine”. Which brings me to my next point.

4. One of the reasons that rap music speaks to me in the way that it does is because the lives that rappers rap about are so incredibly different than my own life. Rap music is kind of like an escape for me, and it serves as a sort of fantasy (if that makes sense). I’ve loved rap for as long as I can remember. My mom wasn’t happy when her 7 year old daughter was listening to Biggie, but it has been such a big part of my life and I really appreciate rap as an art form. That’s why it is my favorite genre.

5 thoughts on “Everyday (Blog Post 6)

  1. Lauren, great song choice! I’m usually not a fan of hip-hop, but I like this song! You point out some great features that are apparent in rap/ hip-hop songs. A key feature is the importance of the backbeat. Without this backbeat it would be hard to rap. The lyrics that you point out, “everyday I drink my wine…feelin’ fine”, also stood out to me. I’m vacationing in Mexico right now and this song is definitely relatable, just sitting on the beach with the sun shining and a margarita in my hand. It gives off a carefree feeling that is effortless.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Although I have not heard this song until now I have heard a few other songs by A$AP and I do tend to like his sound. I think the way that you described the song fitting into the genre was well thought out and well done. I think you hit it from multiple angles which was good in my opinion. I also think giving the Eminem reference towards the end was a good point, when he changes voice tone it usually reflects emotion where as asap does not necessarily. Although I do not think that rap is my favorite genre, I do enjoy this selection.

    Like

  3. Hey Lauren–Nice pick! I really love ASAP too but I didn’t even know this song! I like the way you described what made it part of the rap genre, it was really thorough and nicely done. I saw you commented on my post about Gang Starr. We should exchange some lists of songs we really love! I became a huge biggie fan after I saw the movie notorious. What are your favorite rappers? Are you going to see J. Cole in the fall? I really enjoyed reading your post and look forward to your next ones! Keep it up

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I completely agree with your comments about how you like rap because it is so different from your own life, an escape of sorts. I had never heard this song before but I really enjoy it! My post was also about a song with rap and I talked a lot about how the rap songs I like are softer and not as aggressive, which I think is similar to what you said about liking how ASAP keeps the tone happier when he raps. And this chorus is absolutely laid back, which I enjoy about some rap songs. I think my favorite songs contain a good variety of singing: whether that is different artists, but also different paces and intensities, and this song does a good job of that. Thanks for sharing! I think it’s funny what you said about your mom not appreciating her 7 year old daughter listening to rap, imagining my mom in that situation is hilarious.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment