Blog post 5

I really enjoyed reading Levitin’s text! Usually required texts are very dry and hard to read, but I found this one surprisingly enjoyable to read. There were many parts of the text that I found both surprising and interesting so it was hard to pick only a few for this blog post. When I first got into reading the book, I was really surprised at how much analyzing and interpreting our brain does with music, even though we don’t really realize it! For example, how our brains both recognize and memorize aspects of songs that are the same. This allows music to seem familiar to us when we listen to it at a later time. I think it is pretty amazing that so many other aspects of the song can be changed (instrumentation, tempo, pitch), but we still recognize a song because our brains have the ability to recall tune recognition for hundreds of different songs! While on this subject; before reading this chapter, I actually was only familiar with the terms “instrumentation”, “tempo”, and “pitch”. I wasn’t exactly sure what terms like “tune recognition” or “melodic intervals” referred to. I think Levitin does a great job of describing the terms he uses, so you aren’t left in the dark for very long! I really appreciate that about this text; no need for too much outside research! I would say I am more comfortable using these terms now in casual conversation. One part of the text that I actually have found myself talking a lot about it is the music recognition among infants. I find it so cool that such tiny and undeveloped brains have so much ability to take in musical information. I specifically remember Levitin saying that our musical preferences are influenced from the music that we heard while in the womb. How amazing is that!? Not to mention the fact that infants are able to absorb music of our culture. Pretty dang cool if you ask me!!

7 thoughts on “Blog post 5

  1. Hi Meagan I agree with you that most required reading is very dull and this book was a surprisingly good read. You really never know what you are going to get with an in class book. This book also helped me realized how incredible our brains are when listening to music. Our brains ability to recognize music even when seemingly key aspects of a song is changed is crazy. I also enjoyed reading about our brains memory capacity with music. Memory is such a key thing in everything we do, but I never really thought about my memory and music appreciation going together. Amazing post!

    Like

  2. Hey really enjoyed reading your post. I am totally with you on how dry and difficult most required readings are. It was really nice how this one seemed to offer information that really applied to us. I also found it really interesting how our brains can recognize different sounds/tunes based on things we have heard before. I guess I have noticed how I can recognize songs pretty easily but I never thought there was a scientific explanation for that. I also think it is GREAT that babies can take in music from the womb. I definitely hope to influence my kiddos music taste, as early as possible! It makes me happy to know that there is so much science behind the way we take in and enjoy music. It illustrates how deep our connection to music as humans really is. I wonder what this connection is like in animals.

    Nice post.

    Like

  3. Hi! I totally agree with your comments about the text, especially how fascinating it is that infants are also so musical. The part you mentioned about what infants hear in the womb affecting their musical preference is so true! I babysit a 4 month old girl and the mother swears that she loves Opera music and thinks it’s partly because she played Opera a lot when she was pregnant.
    Similarly, the part in the text that you mentioned about tune recognition astounds me. I think it is so incredible that when a song comes on, some of my friends know it within the first two beats. This is crazy to me, especially considering how nondescript the first few sounds in a lot of music can be, but then I realize I can do this too. How incredible is it that our brains have such a large capacity for musical recognition??!

    Like

  4. The subconscious aspect of music is truly something else! It is really crazy what the human brain is capable of. I have taken a few music classes and they have encouraged to try and make the subconscious, conscious in some aspects when listening. It is really interesting what you might notice. This is also why people have a much easier time memorizing song lyrics than they do something out of a text book. Our minds allow us to process the information more easily due to the melodies and things of that nature behind the lyrics.

    Like

  5. This book was surprisingly interesting! I definitely was expecting a book that dragged on and on without making a concrete point, but this book actually drew an astounding number of conclusions. I, too, loved the discussion about infants and their capacity to understand music. I had also forgotten about the music recognition section when writing my blog post, but that was one of the most fascinating parts of the book. I never once thought about storing tunes and beats in my head in order to identify songs, but once mentioned in the book, I was in complete awe with how true that felt. I remember lyrics very easily, but never realized that the reason I was able to remember lyrics was because of the melodies. Great post! Super interesting to read!

    Like

  6. I also think its pretty amazing to see how our brains are able to recognize what feels like endless amounts of songs. I like how Levitin ties the neuroscience behind this phenomenon into it; it makes you feel as if your brain is essentially this mass supercomputer possessing the capability of seemingly infinite storage. With that being said I feel its certainly going to take a very long time for scientists to fully comprehend the full capability of what our brains can do. I also found it interesting how music tends to have an influence on the developing minds of babies as well.

    Like

  7. I also found it interesting that we can change so many aspects of a song, but still recognize it as the same. I think that I knew this on some level as I recall hearing a cover of “Welcome to the Jungle” at a wedding. It was played by the Vitamin String Quartet, so there were no vocals, and it was different instrumentation and timbre, but still distinctly the same song. The section that discussed music with infants was really interesting. I always wonder about how babies are affected by the world around them, so hearing that they are so heavily influenced by music was astounding.

    Like

Leave a comment