Blog Post 11: Resume example

Here is the link to the resume:

http://www.job-interview-site.com/product-marketing-resume-sample.html

I chose to use this resume as an example because I currently work in the marketing field. So, I wanted to find a resume that I could maybe pick up some ideas from. After evaluating this resume, I thought it was very thorough and organized. I noticed that the first section is a skills profile listing a set of qualities including learning agility, excellent analytical skills, problem-solving skills etc. After each skill, there is a description providing proof of the skill and how it applies to the position. After the list of skills and qualities, the person puts the objective as to what position he/she is looking for. The rest of the resume is a thorough breakdown of the applicants previous work experience. The experience for the one past position is broken down in to what he/she did in market research, product launching, and product performance. Lastly, the candidate puts his/her education

This resume is affective in that everything that needs to be there is there. The candidate really puts themselves out there by listing every skill and every past marketing work he/she has done. There is no doubt that this person isn’t a qualified candidate, but there are many things that I would do differently. Firstly, instead of putting an entire page dedicated to profile, skills, and an objective, I would just put one short summary at the start of the resume. For example, combing that entire page in to one short paragraph and breaking down what is most important because realistically, employers don’t have time to read through a full two pages of a resume. One page is enough.

Also, this resume lacks immensely in the creativity department. Especially for a product marketing position, you want to show that you have some sort of understanding for creativity and what draws people in. This resume is so bland and that was honestly the first thing I noticed. If there were hundred of other applicants for this job with the same experience but they had more color and personality on their resume, I would say they would get the position and this person would be forgotten.

Here is what I’m listening to:

My spotify hasn’t been working so I’ve been using YouTube and just listening to full albums. Radiohead is one of y favorite bands and I usually don’t like listening to music when I’m doing stressful, not fun work, but this is fun work and it’s summer and I’m not stressed! But, If I listened to Radiohead during finals week in December, I would never listen to it the same way again!I think it’s great to listen to classical while studying and I find that it helps me concentrate. But, I don’t listen to music I love while I’m studying because those songs start to remind me of studying and that sucks.

Leave a comment