“Dream On” -Blog Entry 10

Aerosmith

“Dream On”

Live in Rio, 1994

I chose to write about this video of a live performance, because it is one of the few one’s that I have actually seen and enjoyed on YouTube. I think that this is a good video of a live performance for a number of reasons. First of all, the video has clearly been edited, and was not taken by an amateur on a cell phone or camera. Thank god it was the nineties and not everyone had their iPhones in the air quite yet. This video does a good job at capturing what it would be like to actually be in the audience at this time. You can tell that this was probably performed near the end of their set (like popular songs usually are) because of how exhausted the band looks. They are all still maintaining good stage presence, but they are soaked in sweat. Watching this video and seeing Steven Tyler shirtless and soaked in sweat is also an indicator that this concert was probably a hot one. It allows the viewer (of the video) to put themselves in the shoes of the crowd and almost to feel like you are at the concert rather than in the comfort of your own home. I think that Aerosmith is a good live-performance band, and I think that no video could ever capture what it is actually like in real person, but I think that this video does a decent job of capturing them on stage.

One of the aspects of live performances that is lost when they are filmed is the sound quality. Music venues are generally designed to have great sound, and that isn’t something that is easy to capture on a camera. That is certainly one part of this video that is lacking, and cannot be made up for. I think, however, that you can still see a strong connection between the band and the audience in this recorded live performance. The second that the music starts, and the crowd recognizes what song is playing, they erupt in excitement. Throughout the video, you can also hear the crowd singing the words along with the band which is an indication of a strong connection between the band and the audience. I hope you all enjoy this video!

-Lauren

6 thoughts on ““Dream On” -Blog Entry 10

  1. This is a great song! Aerosmith has a unique sound and look to them. I like the way the lead singer just picks up the microphone and the microphone stand in the beginning and is walking around with it. It’s something different, it’s a little weird, but it stands out and catches the viewer’s attention. Another thing that make Aerosmith stand out is how they are performing shirtless. This attracts the viewer’s attention. I could feel the energy of this performance. Although a video is not the same as actually being in the presence of this performance, this was still pretty good.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a great choice for a live performance! I’m usually concerned with live performances that the band or singer won’t sound as good live as they did in a studio where they could edit. Aerosmith, however, does not fit this concern in the slightest. They put on a great performance and still sound great. Hearing Steven Tyler conquer those high notes toward the end is made so much more impressive by seeing him actually do it. You can see the strain and passion going into the words. I agree that it probably came toward the end of the set and they all look a little rough, but that just adds to the song.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really liked this post because you decided to go with an older live performance, instead of something recent. It is definitely surprising to see a live performance without cell phone lights scattered throughout the crowd. The only problems with older concert footage is the sound quality, but this clip really isn’t that bad for being over 20 years old. Steven Tyler is always wearing some ridiculous attire along with his massive hair. Dream On is a classic hit by Aerosmith that is always an enjoyable listen. I’m just jealous that I can never hear the band perform this song in their prime.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is a great song choice, I can’t imagine what it would have been like to see them perform (especially this song) live. Its also cool to see how into the show these guys get hence like what you were saying about the band being exhausted and soaked in sweat but still just rocking out and winning the hearts of fans everywhere (I mean, this is Aerosmith were talking about after all). Its also cool to see how in that day and age people weren’t just glued to their iPhones but were just able to watch the show and have a far better camera going around and recording this experience for anyone to enjoy.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hey Lauren great post! I absolutely love Aerosmith, and I think I have to go with “Dream On” as my favorite songs by them. The song has the ability to get me hyped very well. I have never seen them live, or even watched of video of Aerosmith live so I loved their video. You can totally tell from the video that the concert must have been hot and exhausting for the band. Even though thy look so tired it is amazing how well they are still performing. I would absolutely love to have the chance to see them live myself.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I hate to up the amount of comments on this post but I could not refrain from commenting here! I think that Aerosmith is a great band and they put on really good shows from what I hear. The video is very well done and everything is clear. I think these types of bands always perform long sets so I wonder at what time point this was being played. I think in terms of popularity this song is very high up so even some of the not so familiar ears to their music will recognize and relate to this song making it that much more effective to get a crowd reaction.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment