Blog Entry 2

“Sippin On Fire” By Florida Georgia Line

This is a new age upbeat country hit so to speak. It is more pop country than what most would consider to be country music. The song starts with a guitar intro that is harmonized and then proceeds into a short verse before the catchy chorus. It repeats this verse chorus form before entering a guitar solo. The song then repeats the chorus before finishing.  The electric guitar and vocals are what stands out most in this song. There is a drum line as well as a rhythm acoustic guitar but they are sidelined by the main points. I chose this song because it has been ever growing publicly and has also been playing on my iTunes quite frequently. The song came up first on a shuffle coincidentally so here we are. I rather enjoy this song, I love Florida Georgia Line and I think this song is very catchy and well done. From a guitar player I think the combination of a simple strum pattern on an acoustic and a higher pitched overlapping electric guitar made the song very stimulating to the ear. The song is simple enough that it is popular, but very complex when really dissected which makes it a all around good song.

I thought that the article had a few interesting points. The first being how music is almost a universal language, the fact that certain songs and lullabies are known and sung world wide. This was very cool to think about because I do believe it to be very true. I also found it pretty cool that musically trained brains respond stronger and fire faster than those that are not. This brought back the elementary music class days when we were required to play instruments. But the fact is that is may not help in other cognitive functions. This was all very enlightening and thought provoking. I would like to know if this will be more heavily implemented due to the dropping test scores nation wide. Even though it is not proven to help in other cognitive areas, could this start to be studied and implemented into some sort of rehabilitation process or learning process. Who knows.

2 thoughts on “Blog Entry 2

  1. I love Florida Georgia Line! I think what makes them so popular is their modern twist to country. They are a new and emerging band in the country music industry and have won a ton of awards. I saw Florida Georgia Line in concert as they were an opener for Luke Bryan, and I would have to say that they stole the show! The simplicity of the acoustic and electric allow for the lyrics that are sung to stand out. The song is about a back and forth relationship of a guy and a girl, “every goodbye is bittersweet, so why should we fight what we both need?”. My personal favorite Florida Georgia Line song is “Get Your Shine On”.
    I like how you mention the fact that music is a universal language. This shows the power and strength of music. Music is an essential part of one’s life and music is found all over the world in different forms. I would also add that music is an expression of one’s cultural. Spanish music, Greek music, American music are all so different, but that is because the cultures all vary.

    Like

  2. I can say I am definitely not the biggest fan of country music but this song was actually something I could like. I agree it is very catchy and does not have the classic country feel to it. It was kind of poppy so I can also agree with you on that. I had never heard this song before so thank you for that. It was incredibly interesting that similar songs and lullabies are sung worldwide. I also made the connection to the good old days when everyone in my class had to play the recorder and our parents hating it. I never had thought that having us kids learn to play a simple instrument like the recorder could help us cognitively in the future.

    Like

Leave a comment